By Fatih Erel


Ireland’s Sam Bennett won the second stage of the 54th Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey on Wednesday in Alanya district of southern Antalya province.

Bennett, who rides for the Bora-Hansgrohe team, won the 149.6 kilometer-long race in Alanya in 3 hours 24 minutes and 37 second.

For the second time, Tour of Turkey has been held in World Tour category.

Colombian Alvaro Jose Hodeg Chagui, who rides for the Quick-Step Floors team, came in second, while Simone Consonni, a Italian cyclist riding for the UAE-Team Emirates, was third in the race.

On Tuesday, Argentinian Maximiliano Richeze won the first stage of the 54th Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey in the central province of Konya. 

– 6-stage tour of 950 kilometers

This year’s edition sees 20 teams from across the world, including the Turkish national team, race in the 950-kilometer, 6-stage tour.

After its promotion to World Tour category, the Tour of Turkey is expected to reach a large audience through broadcasts in more than 120 countries.

Organized by the Turkish Cycling Federation, the Presidential Cycling Tour of Turkey debuted in 1963 and became an international race two years later.

In the world’s only cycling tour to connect the continents, cyclists will also ride in the Eurasia tunnel connecting Europe to Asia beneath the Bosphorus Strait.

Nine “World Tour” teams are among 20 teams with 140 cyclists racing in the Tour of Turkey.

This year, the six-day tour started in Konya on Oct. 9 and will end in Istanbul on Oct. 14.


Stage 1: Konya – Konya / Oct. 9 // 148.4 km 

Stage 2: Alanya – Antalya / Oct. 10 // 149.6 km 

Stage 3: Fethiye – Marmaris / Oct. 11 // 132.7 km

Stage 4: Marmaris – Selcuk / Oct. 12 // 205.5 km 

Stage 5: Selcuk – Manisa / Oct. 13 // 135.7 km 

Stage 6: Bursa – Istanbul / Oct. 14 // 164 km 


Turkish National Team 

Astana Pro Team 

Bahrain – Merida 

Bmc Racing Team

Bora – Hansgrohe

Burgos – BH

Caja Rural – Seguros RGA

CCC Sprandi Polkowice

Delko Marseille Provence KTM

Euskadi Basque Country – Murias 

Gazprom – Rusvelo

Manzana Postobon Team 

Quick – Step Floors

Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise

Team Katusha Alpecin

Team Sunweb

Trek – Segafredo 

UAE Team Emirates

WB Aqua Protect Veranclassic

Wilier Triestina – Selle Italia


- Advertisement -
Previous articleFeature: Swimming used in Gaza to heal psychological wounds of war-traumatized girls – Xinhua
Next articleAGFC fishing events hook more than 45K anglers in 2018 | News