Here are the top sports stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 10 a.m. ET/2 p.m. GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect https://www.reutersconnect.com/planning or on Media Express http://mediaexpress.reuters.com/planning-tools/calendar.

TOP STORIES

TENNIS-USOPEN-DJOKOVIC-DELPOTRO/

Djokovic headed for bright finish with U.S. Open win

NEW YORK (Reuters) – For Novak Djokovic, a season that got off to a gloomy start is heading for a brilliant finish after he dismissed Juan Martin Del Potro 6-3 7-6(4) 6-3 to win the U.S. Open on Sunday and earn back-to-back Grand Slam titles.

BASKETBALL-WNBA-WAS-SEA/

Stewart scores 25 as Storm take 2-0 Finals lead

League MVP Breanna Stewart scored 25 points and keyed a fourth-quarter run as the host Seattle Storm took a 2-0 lead in the best-of-five WNBA Finals with a 75-73 victory against the Washington Mystics on Sunday afternoon.

BASEBALL-MLB/

MLB roundup: Red Sox stop Astros’ streak on walk-off hit

Mitch Moreland hit a walk-off single with two outs in the ninth inning, and the Boston Red Sox averted a series sweep with a 6-5 victory over the Houston Astros on Sunday at Fenway Park.

UPCOMING

SOCCER

SOCCER-FRIENDLY-ENG-SWI/PREVIEW (PIX)

Soccer – England – Gareth Southgate news conference

Gareth Southgate news conference ahead of Switzerland friendly.

10 Sep, 11:00 ET / 15:00 GMT

SOCCER-UEFA-NATIONS-POR-ITA/ (PIX)

Soccer – UEFA Nations League – Portugal v Italy

Portugal, without captain and alltime leading scorer Cristiano Ronaldo is being rested, host Italy in a Nations League Group A3 match.

10 Sep, 14:45 ET / 18:45 GMT

SOCCER-UEFA-NATIONS-ESP-CRO/PREVIEW (TV)

Soccer – UEFA Nations League – Spain and Croatia news conferences and training sessions

Spain and Croatia prepare for their UEFA Nations League match in Elche.

10 Sep, 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

SOCCER-FRIENDLY-COL-ARG/

Soccer – International Friendly – Colombia v Argentina

Colombia face Argentina in an international friendly at New York Red Bulls’ stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

11 Sep

SOCCER-EUROPE/CLUBS (TV)

European Club Association (ECA) press conference

The European Club Association, led by Juventus president Andrea Agnelli, holds a news conference following its general assembly.

11 Sep, 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

GOLF

GOLF-RYDERCUP/USA

Golf – Ryder Cup: Final U.S. team pick announced by captain United States Ryder Cup captain Jim Furyk announces his final wildcard pick to complete his 12-man team for the Sept 28-30 event against Europe in Paris.

10 Sep, 10:30 ET / 14:30 GMT

GOLF-BMW/

Golf – PGA Tour: BMW Championship scheduled for Monday finish

Officials hope to get the final round in on Monday after rain washed out play at waterlogged Aronimink on Sunday.

10 Sep, 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

CRICKET

CRICKET-TEST-ENG-IND/ (PIX)

Cricket – England v India – Fifth Test

Hosts England face India in the fifth test at the Oval.

11 Sep

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source

- Advertisement -
Boatsetter
Previous articleLewis Hamilton reveals the one thing he loves most about F1 | F1 | Sport
Next articleAn itch for fitness | News